Oregon Class Definitions:
Off-highway Vehicle (OHV) – term used to describe all vehicles designed for off-highway use and classified as one of the four classes of ATV in Oregon.
ATV – Oregon statute considers all vehicles intended for off-highway use to be all-terrain vehicles (ATVs). They are categorized in four classes:
- Class I ATV – (Quads, 3-wheelers)
- Class II ATV – (Jeeps, Sand Rails, SUVs, etc.)
- Class III ATV – (Motorcycles)
- Class IV ATV – (Side x sides)
What’s New in Oregon?
Hands-on training is now required for all youth under 16 years of age when operating a quad (ATV) or motorcycle on public lands.
- Mandatory use of safety restraints for youth under 16 in Class II and some Class I ATVs.
- Mandatory use of helmets in non-street legal Class II vehicles for all riders under 18 years old.
The 2011 Oregon Legislature passed House Bill 2329 creating a new class of ATV; the Class IV side-by-side:
- Operators must have a valid driver’s license.
- Beginning July 1, 2012, if the manufacturer recommendation allows youth to operate then the youth must have training.
It is your responsibility to know the regulationsd for the area where you ride.
See www.oregonOHV.org or www.rideATVoregon.org for more information.
Class I ATV – (Quads, 3-wheelers):
- Vehicles 50 inches wide or less
- Dry weight of 1,200 pounds or less
- Uses handlebars for steering
- Has a seat designed to be straddled for the operator
- Travels on three or more pneumatic tires that are six inches or more in width and has wheels with a rim diameter 14″ or less.
Class II ATV – (Jeeps, Sand Rails, SUVs, etc.):
- Weighs more than or is wider than a Class I all-terrain vehicle
- Is not a Class IV all-terrain vehicle.
- Is actually being driven off-road.
Class II ATV – (Motorcycles):
- Travels on two tires
Class IV ATV – (Side by sides):
- Is 65 inches wide or less at its widest point.
- Has a dry weight of 1,800 pounds or less.
- Has nonstraddle seating.
- Has a steering wheel for steering control.
- Travels on four or more pneumatic tires that are six inches or more in width and has wheels with a rim diameter 14″ or less.
*Starting July 1, 2012, youth under 16 operating a Classd IV ATV will need to obtain an operator permit (ATV Safety Education Card.)
ATV Safety Education Card
Formerly referred to as an “Operator Permit,” the card signifies successfully completing OPRDs On-line Safety Education Course. Youth must also complete a hands-on training or evaluation course. (Ref: ORS 801.193) All operators of Class I or Class III ATV must possess an OPRD “ATV Safety Education Card” by:
- January 1, 2009 – for all persons 15 and under; and their adult supervisors.
- January 1, 2010 – for all persons 30 and under
- January 1, 2011 – for all persons 40 and under
- January 1, 2012 – for all persons 50 and under
- January 1, 2013 – for all persons 60 and under
- January 1, 2014 – all persons must have an ATV Safety Education Card
On-line Course: The free on-line training course required to receive the ATV Safety Education Card can be found at www.rideATVoregon/trainng .
Hands-on Evaluation: is an ATV rider course provided by a trained evaluator and assumes the rider already has enough skills to safely control an ATV and can demonstrate those skills to the evaluator.
Hands-on Training: is an ATV rider course providcd by an trained and certified instructor and assumes no previous ATV knowledge or skills.
- Operating Permit: Sticker placed on an ATV that is required for accessing designated lands open to the public.
- Operator Permit: Card signifying successfully completing an OHV Safety class — see “ATV Safety Education Card.”
Operators with a suspended or revoked driver’s license may not operate any Class, I, II, III, or IV ATV.
- Supervision: All youth operators under age 17 must be supervised by an adult.
- Helmets: Operators and passengers under age 18 must wear a DOT approvedf motorcycle helmet with the chin strap fastened.
- Training: All riders must possess a valid OPRD “ATV Safety Education Card.” Youth under age 16 must also have hands-on training.
- Rider Fit: A Class I operator under the age of 16 must meet all the following minimum, physical size requirements in relationship to the vehicle: brake reach, leg length, and grip reach.
Operating Permits, Titling, Registration and Insurance Requirements:
Operating Permits: are required for all ATVs riding off-road on public land. OPRD manages the ATV Permit Program and sells through more than 170 Per,it Agents statewide. To find the current Permit Agent list go to: www.oregonOHV.org
Titling & Registration: Oregon DMV does not require titling or registering Class I, II, III, or IV ATVs used solely off-road. Class II and III ATVs used both off-road and on regular roads are required to be titled anfd registered. DMV offers optional titles, without registration, for Class I< II and III ATVs used solely off-road. It is highly recommended to have all of your vehicles titled. A title is often required to finance or insure an ATV. A title also establishes legal ownership and assists police in the recovery of lost or stolen vehicles.
Insurance: is not required for Class I, III, or IV ATVs used solely off-road. Oregon’s mandatory insurance law requires insurance for all Class II ATVs. It is highly recommended that you have insurance on our vehicle to protect yourself, the vehicle, and others if an accident dfoes occur.
Mufflers: are required and must be maintained at 99 decibels or below, depending the vehicle and the location. The sound levels are as follows:
ALL OF OREGON:
- Motorcycles – 99 db
- Front engine (SUV, Truck) – 95 db
- Mid & rear engine (quad, sand rail) – 97 db
- Sand Recreation Area – 97 db
- Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area – 93 db
Source: 2012 Oregon OHV Guide, www.oregon OHV.org , www.rideATVoregon.org , or 1-877-772-3359